Independent reviews · Re-checked October 2026
Your home has years on it. Know what a warranty will pay.
Plain-English, contract-level reviews for homeowners with aging systems. We compare coverage caps, service fees, and the exclusions that matter most in older homes.
Plan finder
Why we exist
From the 20-year-old furnace to the water heater nobody's checked, we read every page of the contract, including the exclusions, so you know what a plan will actually pay.
Inside a typical plan
What a warranty may cover, room by room.
Most plans split coverage into home systems and appliances, then cap what they'll pay for each. Pick a system to see what to check.
- Roof leaksLimited on some plans; storm damage is insurance
- Heating & coolingThe biggest repair bills, and the caps that matter most
- Kitchen appliancesPer-appliance caps and repair-or-replace rules
- ElectricalPanels and wiring; code upgrades are often excluded
- Water heaterTank and tankless units; check access and permit terms
- PlumbingLeaks and stoppages inside the home
- LaundryWasher and dryer, often on combination plans
Terms vary by contract. Caps and exclusions decide what a plan pays.
There's no single best plan. There's the best plan for your house.
For older furnaces, AC, water heaters, and plumbing, where caps and code-upgrade limits decide what gets paid.
See our criteria →For out-of-warranty kitchen and laundry appliances, with attention to per-item caps and replacement terms.
See our criteria →For homeowners who want systems and appliances under one contract, judged on limits, fees, and claims terms.
See our criteria →We name picks only after verifying each provider’s current contract. Our first verified picks are in progress.
The fine print, side by side
| Checked Oct 23, 2026 | Choice Home Warranty | First American Home Warranty | American Home Shield | 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty | Home Service Club | Home Warranty of America | Old Republic Home Protection |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plans | 2 plans (best of those shown) Basic Plan, Total Plan | 3 plans (best of those shown) Starter Plan, Essential Plan, Premium Plan | 3 plans (best of those shown) ShieldSilver, ShieldGold, ShieldPlatinum | 2 plans (best of those shown) Systems, Pinnacle | 2 plans (best of those shown) Standard Coverage, Comprehensive Coverage | 2 plans (best of those shown) Premier Plan, Premier Plus Plan | 3 plans (best of those shown) Basic, Deluxe, Elite |
| Heating & cooling cap | $3,000 (best of those shown) per system | Not stated (best of those shown) | $5,000 (best of those shown) per system | $5,000 (best of those shown) per system | $2,000 (best of those shown) per system | $5,000 (best of those shown) per system | $6,500 (best of those shown) per system |
| Best appliance cap | $3,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $7,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $4,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $2,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $2,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $5,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier | $7,000 (best of those shown) per appliance, top tier |
| Overall limit | Not stated (best of those shown) | No limit (best of those shown) | $50,000 (best of those shown) per term | $50,000 (best of those shown) per term | $9,000 (best of those shown) per term | $15,000 (best of those shown) per term | No limit (best of those shown) |
| Service fee | $100 per claim (best of those shown) | Set in your plan (best of those shown) Not published | $100 or $125 (best of those shown) | You choose (best of those shown) | Choice of deductible levels (best of those shown) | Set in your plan (best of those shown) Not published | Per trade; you select the amount (best of those shown) |
| Code & permit upgrades | Excluded (best of those shown) Code corrections and permits excluded | Limited (best of those shown) Optional Advantage add-on: $500 (Essential), $1,500 (Premium) | Limited (best of those shown) Platinum only, up to $250 | Excluded (best of those shown) Not covered | Excluded (best of those shown) Code modifications and permits excluded | Limited (best of those shown) Only with OrangePlus add-on: code $250, permits $250 | Limited (best of those shown) Deluxe $500, Elite $1,000; not on Basic |
| Unknown pre-existing issues | Excluded (best of those shown) Known or unknown pre-existing excluded | Excluded (best of those shown) Covered only for real estate transaction customers | Limited (best of those shown) Excluded only if known or reasonably detectable | Limited (best of those shown) Only if not reasonably detectable | Excluded (best of those shown) Conditions existing before the effective date excluded (homeowner plans) | Excluded (best of those shown) Pre-existing conditions excluded | Excluded (best of those shown) Malfunctions before the effective date excluded |
| Cancellation | Anytime (best of those shown) Yes; admin fee may apply after 30 days | Restricted (best of those shown) Full refund within 30 days if no claims; after a claim, non-cancelable | Anytime (best of those shown) Yes; pro-rata refund, admin fee after 30 days | Anytime (best of those shown) Yes, prorated refund | Restricted (best of those shown) Pro rata refund, but you may owe service costs above fees paid | Anytime (best of those shown) Yes; pro rata refund less service costs and a small admin fee | Non-cancelable (best of those shown) Non-cancelable except listed reasons (state rules vary) |
| Waiting period | 30 days (best of those shown) | Not stated (best of those shown) | 30 days (best of those shown) | 30 days (best of those shown) | Not stated (best of those shown) | 30 days (best of those shown) | Not stated (best of those shown) |
| Availability | All states (best of those shown) except WA | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published | Varies by ZIP (best of those shown) No state list published |
| Sample contract | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) | Read it (best of those shown) |
| Links | Review | Review | Review | Review | Review | Review | Review |
Covered Limited Excluded Best Most favorable term among the providers shown From each provider's sample contract and plan pages. Not a quote; terms can vary by state.
Cost check
The monthly price isn't what you pay.
Every repair visit adds a service fee. Move the sliders to match a quote and see a yearly cost. These are your inputs, not our prices.
Excludes costs above coverage caps and non-covered repairs. How to estimate the full cost
Start with the question you have.
"We tell you when something in a contract has changed."
The Home Upgrade Desk editorial team